Inside Cal Poly Logo

Celebrating Employee Milestones

Lead Plumber Jason Thomson was recognized for 25 years of service at Cal Poly.

The Annual Service Awards is a Presidential event recognizing employees for their continued dedication and work with the university.

On May 20, Cal Poly community members gathered at the Performing Arts Center to celebrate and recognize 240 colleagues who reached employment milestones of 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35 and 40 years on campus.

Of these employees, 33 of them are colleagues in Administration and Finance and three, Ken Hansen, Jason Thomson and Sean Vink, reached the 25-year milestone.

We would like to recognize and thank the following colleagues for their years of dedicated service.

25 Years

Ken Hansen, lead custodian
Jason Thomson, lead plumber
Sean Vink, research associate, Dairy Innovation Institute

20 Years

Yolanda Heredia, accounting technician III
Denise Lazar, administrative analyst/specialist
Valerie Maijala, CMS/CFS finance lead

15 Years

Joe Alves
Jon Bruckner
Allen Buentiempo
Nathan Deack
Tina Flack
Frank Herrera
Jennifer Hiatt
Monica Holman
Fausto Houghton
Ron Ion
Thomas McPherron
Manolito Morales
Chad Reiley
Ian Robbins
Gonzalo Rucobo
Laura Ruiz
Lisa West

10 Years

Michael Albright
Christopher Essman
Brian Gautrey
Genae Jenkins
Sierra Layous
Ryan Nugent
Kristen Teufel
Paul van Ryn
Bryan Weaver
Merrie Kay Reis-Sterkel